Finding Old Things to Fix up

Table 017I love finding old things I can fix up. I got a round Victorian plant stand or table at Roy Dudley’s last week. It was not much, but it didn’t have the marble top I got it, because I thought I could put a piece of round plate mirror on the top. My friend that was with me said for me to get it. He had a piece of white marble that would fit he’d give me. So, I got it. He told me that I needed to get lemon oil and saturate it real good and let the dry wood soak it up. The marble piece was old and had been outside. He told me to get Johnson’s paste wax and rub it down several times. Well, I hate it when he is right.   I really cleaned and soaked and wiped and polished and it looks fantastic. I hate it when he is right. (He’s right all the time.) Of course the lemon oil was $10 with tax and the paste wax was $8 with tax. I did have the 409 cleaner than cleaned the marble. It was fun fixing it up.table

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Old Things to Fix up

  1. charlotte says:

    The table looks wonderful after you did all the work on it. Great job!!

Leave a Reply

