Sue Brings Friends for Lunch and a Tour

Roy 1, Roy 2, Morrilton with G, August 2014 009My friend, Sue Hankins, from Little Rock had guests coming for a visit. She called and wanted to know if I would let them come up for lunch. She has done this before and we have all had a great time. I prepare a good meal and they come to what Sue calls “The Gatling Museum.” It gives her friends something different to do and I get to clean up the house and cook for a bunch that I like to do. She pays for everything just like it was a restaurant. I was in school, but out that day at 11:30 so they met me at the house at 12:00. It was during oneSue 1 of those very hot days and I decided to do a cold plate. I made chicken salad with grapes and pecans, egg and olive salad, with 3 kinds of crackers, relish tray, carrots and celery and ranch, and dessert. All served in the great Southern manner. I got to use my new round marble top Victorian table I put at the end of the dining room. It was smaller and easier to use with the 3 luncheon guests. But, I did set the big table for Sue, because she loves seeing how I use all the appointments. They got to go through the whole house and got to see all the collections. The purse closet, I think, was their favorite. We all had a great time. I prepared so much that I had friends over that night and did it again. Thanks, Sue. I hope I gave your friends some good memories.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sue Brings Friends for Lunch and a Tour

  1. Very pretty table and someday Im coming to see your house

  2. Dorothy Rodgers says:

    Jim, It was absolutely wonderful. Thank you so much for the delicious meal and the tour of your home and collections. Sue was correct–you are amazing. Thanks for creating another memory for the three “sisters”.
    Dorothy Rodgers, Mountain View

Leave a Reply

