I Kick Boredom by Making Pot Holders

Awol smoking stand pot holders 035School has been going on for several weeks. This semester I have a period off, an hour at lunch and a 45 minute break between classes in the afternoon. So, I have time to kill. I try and not waste time at school and I have so many thing I could do. But, it seems right now with my eighth graders making pot holders I have been making them right along with the kids. You know my Daddy made them when he was older. He would sit in his chair and watch TV and just weave away. He made thousands. He made so many that Mama called the company and she had a standing order that the president would sell her a huge crate of unsacked loops. Now I have made a few, but nothing like Daddy. He just gave them away to friends and total strangers at Wal-Mart. So, here are the first ones I have made this year.Awol smoking stand pot holders 032Awol smoking stand pot holders 033Awol smoking stand pot holders 034

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Kick Boredom by Making Pot Holders

  1. Deb says:

    I used to make these as a youngster. Good memories !! Lovely pot holders!

Leave a Reply

