Stopping Along the Way

Reunion Forrest City flea 091On the back way to Forrest City for my class reunion last weekend, I stopped to do some junking.  I called Pat in Searcy and she met me in Beebe. (I hate I-40.) I had been to all the stores there a few weeks ago, this one was so big I wanted to go again. We met there and had a great time looking and talking.  We both got  a few things then we went to the railroad depot where they just opened another flea market. We found a couple of things there. I found a fc fINDS 1shelf for Fina for her shaving and mustache cup collection. I asked Pat to meet me at the big flea market on the highway at Searcy and we walked through that one. We had a pleasant day and I headed out to Forrest City. I called Donna Horton and asked her if she had a shop and she didn’t. But she did have a couple of booths at the old furniture store in F.C., so I went. It was a good day and I enjoyed the looking and finding.  One of the best finds of the day was at a new flea market close to Vilonia on the other side of Conway. Thefc fINDS 2 guy there is super nice and is so helpful. I went past the counter and saw a basket full of silverware.  I was shocked to see children’s spoons and a bunch of them. They were only $2.00  and $3.00 each. Well, I have been collecting these for 35 years and they are now selling from $27.50 to $35.00. I got them all There was a Gerber’s baby spoon, the girl and boy Campbell Soup Kids, child star Betty Lou, Dennis the Menace, Tony the Tiger, Yogi Bear, Hunkleberry Hound, and Snow White.  I was thrilled!!

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stopping Along the Way

  1. Donna Horton says:

    I see the fiddle shaped bottle you got in my booth! When I saw it was missing, I wondered if you got it! I enjoyed our visit at the reunion even though we are not classmates.

Leave a Reply

