Scrap Quilt # 115 – The Fan Blocks

Reunion Forrest City flea 011I think it was May when Cathy Jones gave me a sack of older quilt stuff. In it was a stack of fans, some unfinished blocks and some pink yardage to finish the blocks. I think I had to make 20 blocks to make the quilt a decent size.  When I got finished I started arranging them in ways to see which way was the  prettiest. Well, you can see by the pictures that you can put these in all manner of patterns, and they will make a pretty quilt. But, I didn’t care much for the circles, so I decided to make them go allReunion Forrest City flea 010 in one way to the right. I haven’t felt too good this summer, so I haven’t made anything. As a matter of fact, these block stayed on my tables for over 2 months. When I finally decided to put them together 2 weekends ago, I got three rows done and stacked all the rest in a sack and went to Joan’s to sew all day. I was determined to finish the top. Got 6 rows done and laid out the quilt, and I had done all the six rows the wrong way. I decided to do 3 one way , 3 the other and the last 3 as the fist and just get it together and out-of-the-way. I sewed the last rows on and put a border on it and looked on the chair and there was another row! I bordered it and stuck it on top. So, there you have it and my craziness. An old-fashioned fan quilt in a crazy setting.FAN 1Fan 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrap Quilt # 115 – The Fan Blocks

  1. Dot Collins says:

    I loved each of your layout versions and since I love circles I am especially fond of the ones that make circles – but your final layout is great! Maybe that is the one you will let me quilt for you as a thank you for the wonderful house and trees quilt for the guild. If so, bring it to Houston with you. Love your posts! Dot

  2. Deb says:

    I like your finally lay out!! I also like when someone just does it their way even if it’s crazy. That gives character to the quilt!!

Leave a Reply

