Turn a Smoking Stand into a Sewing Stand

Awol smoking stand pot holders 026My quilt friend , Brian in Indianoplis, makes pin cushions and sewing stands out of the old metal ashray stands. I was never interested in making one until I found this wooden one for $15 bucks in Beebe at a flea market. I really liked the wood, but I hated the old orange varnish on it. I decided it would strip and could be real different. It took me a whole day and a new can of stripper to get it all cleaned up. I sanded it with steel wool and then I stained it with a thin coat of walnut penetrating stain. I didn’t want it dark, so I stained and wipe it right off. I think it is okay enough to see what I can do with it. I love the fact that the tray turns ana it is the right height for a sewing table or to put by the couch. This is going to be fun.stand 1stand 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

