Questers of Little Rock Have Meeting at My House

September 2014 Questers 145Today, the  Questers Pinnacle Chapter #1219 met at my house to tour and see my antique collections. They are a group that their mission statement is to assist, and support through fellowship and action, the efforts of The Questers, an international non-profit organization, and individuals with an interest in the  research and study of antiques, historic questers 1 preservation and restoration, and education. They  had their meeting first in the studio and then I read them a bio so they would know who I was and what I do. Then I showed them half of my collection of Victorian watercolors I had gotten out of storage and put them on the studio tables. (The other half of the 70 watercolors were displayed in the sunroom.) After that I told them where the 20 plus collections were in each room. Then we all went back to the bedroom and I talked about petit point, how it was made and showQuesters 5 them the 500 plus pieces hanging, displayed on the bed, on the wall, and closets.  The wooden Victorian tray collection was displayed on the back bedroom bed.  The hankie collection was laid out on the front twin bed and the other bed had some of my small quilts on it. They got to snoop and peak in every cabinet and storage areas and could open anything to see up close. They brought a sandwich and I furnished the chips, drinks, relish tray, and dessert. We sat at the two dining room tables where I had set the main table with my newly found Dresden Floral plate I got for $2.00 a piece and my silver-plated plated flatware I got for $20 for the 12 place settings. The round table was set with the Viking red crystal and Gorham Chantilly The dessert was cheese cake with chocolate drizzle and chocolate morsels with salted pecans and chocolate dipped strawberries and a cherry on top. It was the most delightful day.September 2014 Questers 161September 2014 Questers 145

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Questers of Little Rock Have Meeting at My House

  1. Betty Dunn says:

    I don’t know when I have had a more enjoyable day. I was pleased to meet Jim and share his wonderful treasures. I will always “collect” with him in mind.

  2. Sue Hankins says:

    I really like the fall table docorations!!!
    Guess I will have to come up again just to sit at the table.😃

  3. Boy…..I would really like to have been there. You did a great job!

  4. Mary Yarbrough says:

    My mother-in-law (Goldie) and mom said they had a great time!

  5. Carolyn Moseley says:

    We were welcomed royally and entertained very profusely. And I thank you for the lamp chimney, It fits, and it can be a trade for the sleeve of Ritz and Peanut butter with one of my favorite knives . Carolyn Moseley .Pinnacle 1219

  6. And we had a wonderful time. The conversation at lunch was just GREAT! Such large collections you have. And all such tastefully displayed. Thank you again for having us. Life sometimes deals out these little treats.

Leave a Reply

