While Lucas Gets a Beautified I Go Junking

September 2014 Questers 067Every other Thursday I take Lucas the Tail-less Wonder Dog for a day of beautification.  He likes riding in the car and loves coming home beautified.  I have to go to the Doggie House to Mrs. Sharon in Perry and have for 12 years.  It’s about 10 to 12 miles across the Arkansas river bridge right past Opello. He’s long and shaggy and his hair grows soooooooo fast. He brings leaves in everyday, so I try to keep up with his beautifications. Going over I spied middleton 1 people selling in front of the  Opello City Hall and I saw a sign on the highway in Perry. So, on the way back I stopped at both.  The one in Opello was the Middleton’s. I had her daughter Jan years ago. (Oh, that’s where I got my Feather-weight sewing machine in the original box with everything and instruction booklet. Love it.) Well, she had stuff everywhere, but it was displayed on many tables and furniture all around.  I got several neat things there and at the city hall sale. I got to pincushion for that collection, some piemid 2 servers, hand-painted wooden doll furniture, some jewelry (just because it was cheap) wooden and metal corn holders, a shaving mug for Fina and Matt. (She still owes me a dollar.), a green glass bowl for Pat’s Christmas I’ll give her tomorrow when I go to Searcy tomorrow, a BettyBoop doll, and a funny record album for the ex who collect pianos for her music room. The neatest thing was a centerpiece bowl with candle holders and glass prism for only $3.00. The prisms would cost a lot more than that. Just more junk and stuff.

Anybody know what these were used for??? The are very light weight and the features are han-painted. Maybe cake decorations???? Lok like 1950's.

Anybody know what these were used for??? The are very light weight and the features are han-painted. Maybe cake decorations???? Lok like 1950’s.

Use red fingernail polish to touch up 1950's ceramics.

Use red fingernail polish to touch up 1950’s ceramics.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

