Surprise Trip to the Jacksonville Air Force Base

woodburneed bed, baskets, CAQ 047 I got up early Saturday and took a bath at 6:30. I paced the floor and went to town to get a coke. Came home and paced some more and drove back to town for a bit and came home. I waited until 9:00 and I texted Pete and Liz called. She said, “Morning!” I said, “I’m bored.” She said they were going to LR, NLR, Jacksonville and I had 12 minutes to get ready. So, I ran upstairs, cleaned up the kitchen, emptied the dishwasher, put the clean dishes up and the dirty ones in, grabbed all the dirty clothes andair 1 put them in the washing machine and, took the trash out. There they were driving up. I had done all my chores for the weekend and away we went. We stopped at Roy Dudley’s sale, ate lunch at Flying Fish, went to Hank’s warehouse, T.J. MAX, and then to the Jacksonville Air Force Base to the Exchange and Commissary. I’d never been to the air force base.air 2 It was a neat experience. I had to get a pass to get in. He was military so they had their I.D. I was surprised how large it was, how many planes were around, and it was kinda like a little city all by itself. I was surprised to see a bank, several ball fields and the housing. Don’t know what I was expecting, but was surprised. We went to the commissary and exchange and that was neat. Just a real neat experience.air 3air 4

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

