The Laundry Room and the White Oak Split Baskets

woodburneed bed, baskets, CAQ 058When I was remodeling in the spring, Jeff the Carpenter carpentered  and Jeff the Painter painted. (Same Jeff. He can do anything.) Since my basket collection has grown , I was stepping on and over baskets in the laundry room. I decided I wanted wooden boards on the ceiling so I could hang the baskets. I was hired in Branson, MO, in 1969 to work in the Silver Dollar Citybaskeys1 Basket and Broom Shop. That’s where I learned to make baskets. First you cut down a white oak tree that’s on the west side of a mountain. Then you split the login 4 to 6 foot wedges. Then you use a two-handled knife and carve out the strips. Then you wet and weave. Simple.  Well, back to Jeff. He painted everything and closed up a window behind the silver cabinet, and made the boards with hooks to hang my baskets. I really like having them where I can reach them and see all of them.  baskets2bsakets3woodburneed bed, baskets, CAQ 057

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Laundry Room and the White Oak Split Baskets

  1. Deb says:

    Nice baskets! Enjoyed all the pictures, but I really like the one with the dresses! They are pretty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

