Crystal Bridges and the State of the Art Collection

Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 016When I went to teach up in Northwest Arkansas this week Barbara asked me if I wanted to go to Crystal Bridges. YES!!! It is such a fascinating place. She told we that the new exhibition was called: State of the Art, Discovering American Art Now. It runs through January 19th, 2015. Well, I had mixed emotions about what they think art is today.  Sculpture, painting, drawing is what I like. Technology, media, film, lights is a different area to me. I know it is very creative and it takes talent to do those things in the electronic media field, but to me it’s not what you frame and put on a wall or place in your garden. I did like some of the paintings, sculptures and photographs. But, some of it was too way out for me. I appreciate the “brain” that creates, but not thrilled with some of the outcomes. You need to go see for yourself. I didn’t take photos in the gallery. My flash is hard to turn off, so I just took a few pictures of the buildings.Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 007  They are now building a Children’s museum. Exciting!Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 008 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 009 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 010 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 011 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 012 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 013 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 015 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 016 Stained glass door, Fayetteville, Antiquing Clarksville. Barbara 017

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crystal Bridges and the State of the Art Collection

  1. CandyBerry says:

    Jim, you didn’t mention the huge artquilt by Gina Phillips, plus lots of other fiberart work. Loved it. Went on my birthday, best bday ever! Wish I lived closer, I would go there every week.

  2. The next time you are up there you simply must do the walking trails. They are very inspiring and don’t forget your camera!!!

Leave a Reply

