Black Friday and Black Saturday Antique Shopping

purse 001I didn’t have a thing planned to do this weekend, but sit and watch TV. I got a call from a friend that wanted to go antiquing on Black Friday. I sure wasn’t going to any mall and fight those crowds, but I would go to antique stores. We went to Conway and went to Toad’s Crossing and Jennifer’s. Then we went up to Greenbrier and worked our way down back to Conway. We spent all day and I found a few things. I got a brass candle sconce with aThanksgiving, Conway and Hot springs antiques 041 cherub holding the two candle holders. It was only $8.50. The 10 glass prisms was worth that. The best bargain of the day was a pair of sterling candle holders for $10.50. They would be worth a lot more just melted down and sold for the sterling. I got a set of tongs for $2.00 that were really neat. On Saturday he decided he wanted to go to Hot Springs looking. We went to several stores downtown and I got 3 real neat Christmas presents that I think the recipients will be greatly pleased. But I can’t show them on here, because it won’t be a surprise.  One of the neatest things I got was a Shannon Crystal cake stand. (You can turn it over and make a fruit bowl out of it.) It was marked $30. But, I got 20 off and it was only $24. I have seenTG 1 them $50 or more. Good find. I found several things to go in my collections but one of the best buys was a petit point purse with pandas on it. I got it for $13.75.  Another great find was a German powder jar. It was a Victorian lady and in really great shape. It only cost $8.50. I bought a huge box of silver serving pieces for $10. There was 16 pieces in the box. What was funny the can of silver polish cost $14.00. All in all with the several Christmas presents and the sales I got some great bargains and presents.  It was two good days with a good friend.TG 2purse

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Friday and Black Saturday Antique Shopping

  1. Deb says:

    Love the panda purse!!!

Leave a Reply

