A Christmas Catcus Story

Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 121I had a Christmas Cactus. It was a gift from Donna Kay Leslie years ago. I kept it at school and brought it home in the summers. It was bright hot pink. I had this wonderful green pot that I had grown several things with down at the newspaper office, and when my plant died there they called and told me to come pick up my pot. I did and I replanted my Christmas cactus Cactus 1in it. It grew and thrived and bloomed each year. This summer it died. With all the rains it sorted drowned in a sad soggy death. I told Mama if she knew where aI could get a start, find me one. Or if she could find a small one that would fit my pot get it. Well, a week later I got home and there was this HUGE Christmas cactus sitting on the table at the back door. Big, beautiful and healthy. I called her and she told me one of her china painting Cactus 2friends gave it to me. (I didn’t remember the name and I didn’t get her address. Thank you to whoever was so generous.) I took it to school when it got colder and put it on the microwave in my convent room. Well, two weeks ago it started budding and we have been watching it everyday. It started off with one then daily it sprang into full bloom. It is gorgeous! But it is peachy colored. They look like shrimp. Real different. It has been a neat experience to see the kids reactions to all the blooms. Thank you, whoever you are.Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 122

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Christmas Catcus Story

  1. I’m chuckling. At first I thought you said “put it in the microwave” and I thought “is that a new technique to bring on the blooms?”

Leave a Reply

