A Watercolor Painting Gift from Barbara Middleton

Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 145 One of the dearest friends I have is a meek and mild-mannered lady that I knew as a quilter first. Her name is Barbara Middleton. When we really got to be good friends and formed the button club she was a member. We saw each other usually twice a month at the quilt guild meeting and then again at button club. When button club was meeting we went to her house for a meeting. We got to tour her studio and see her art. She is a potter and a painter and a quilter. Does wonderful stuff and even teaches at theDec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 144 Arkansas Arts Center in Little Rock. We saw huge fantastic orbs and modernistic pottery, her button collection, and then her watercolors. She does shows and sales and had everything in boxes to be able to tote them. I was flipping through the watercolors and there was a red rose one that really caught my eye. I asked her how much was it and at that point in my life I couldn’t buy it. Several years passed and we disbanded button club, but I still got to see my friend at the guild meetings. Three of us met and went to the purseDec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 150 museum and I remembered that painting and asked her if she still had it. She said she did and she would bring it to me at guild. I never expected her to hand it to me and she told me it was a gift. I was shocked. I told her I really  wanted to pay for it and she said she was glad I wanted it and it had a good home. I’m thrilled. Now to find the right frame and the right place to put it. Thank you, Barbara!!!!Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 148

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Watercolor Painting Gift from Barbara Middleton

  1. Deb says:

    Beautiful painting!!

  2. Melanie says:

    I am trying to get ahold of a bowl made by Barbara Middleton I recently moved from Little Rock and my fabulous bowl we purchased from an Emty Bowls event donated by she has been broken. It was my favorite and I’d love to replace it any ideas how to get in touch with her or a gallery or shop which sells her pottery???? Many thanks.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      She works at the Arkansas Arts Center. She has tons of art and pottery at her house for sale.
      Barbara Middleton 9107 Peach Tree Lane Sherwood AR 72120-­‐3903
      501-­‐835-­‐0692

  3. Jim Gatling says:

    It is a beautiful in person. You can’t see the color changes and textures in my photographs.

  4. Jean R. says:

    Jim, Would this Barbara Middleton be the same person who is from University City, MO? Her last name was Rogers. If so, she was in my high school class of 1965. Her work is beautiful, and a friend told me she quilted in Sherwood , AR

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Yes, it is.
      I( saw her last night.
      Call her. She is expecting it.
      Barbara Rogers Middleton, 9107 Peach Tree Lane, Sherwood AR 72120-­‐3903
      phone: 501-­‐835-­‐0692

Leave a Reply

