My Sugar Cookies from Judy Calhoun’s Recipe

Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 044Last week at 12:00 I wanted something sweet. Since I don’t keep anything sweet in the house I knew I had to make something. I got out my trusty, rusty old Devil Dog Cookbook and found Judy Calhoun’s recipe for old-time sugar cookies. I read it and had all the ingredients except for milk. I decided I could make them with water. I just wanted a little something. ISugar cookies made up the recipe and started putting them on the cookie sheet and they seemed to grow and grow. I ended up with 2 full cookie sheets of cookies. I like to put a tiny spoonful of sugar on top of each one and then use different toppings like pecans and cinnamon, different sugar sprinkles, and I leave some plain and make cherry icing and chocolate icing. I iced them and ate one and went to bed. The next morning I was floored when I gotDec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 043 Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 044 Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 045 Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 046 Dec. 2012 AQG CAQ Ashley Hot Springs Anna 047 to the kitchen to see everything messed up, and 2 full plates of cookies. Now I said I wanted something sweet. I didn’t want to gain weight. (Did you know if you ate normally all year and ate one extra cookie each day you would gain ten pounds in that year?) I put them on plates and put them in big baggies. I called Liz. She was at Wal-Mart and said she was coming right over to get them. They said they were good and they enjoyed them. Now I want some more.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

