Secret Santa and Barbi

At Sacred Heart the faculty and students participate in Secret Santa. The kids have a pizza party and the faculty has a luncheon to reveal who their secret Santa is. Mine was Barbi Spears Kordsmeier. She’s not new to Sacred Heart, she goes to church there, and this year she does the books and helps out in the kitchen. She is married to Walt Kordsmeier. They have a daughter, Paige, that graduated from there last year that Christmas Pictures cards 2014 051 barbi Christmas Pictures cards 2014 052 Christmas Pictures cards 2014 053was my

 

 

 

 

 

 

best student. and now she attends Arkansas Tech. I had Barbi at MHS, and we have always been friends. I was so excited that I drew her name for Secret Santa. I got a case of her favorite drink, Diet Pepsi, (yuck) Hot Tamales, Twix,  and something else she listed, and put them in Christmas sacks. Then I got all the stuff to make spaghetti, dish towels, deck of cards, package of dice, a snow globe, (I forget everything).  Then on our reveal day I got her a crown, a pink feather boa, and a T-shirt that says,”Queen of Pink Fluff.” (Long funny story). I, also, got her a multi-fabric brightly colored apron. When I got the apron home it was wrinkled, so I took it to school and starched and ironed it. I took it back home and laid it flat on the studio table. I had set a styrofoam cup down and forgot it. The next morning the drink had a hole in it, and all the Sprite had dripped out and the apron was soaked. I had to wash the apron, but forgot and left the starch at school. So, I put it in a bag and put it in the frig so it would dry out. I took it to school on Friday and it took me 45 minutes to iron and then I had to put two fans on it for the heavy cotton fabric to completely dry. (My Life. LOL!) As a joke I put an ugly, ugly ceramic statue in blue and white of a couple sitting under a tree to unwrap as her gift. I told her it was Walt and her. I made her a potholder and cut snowflakes out all three names, and I wood burned them some ornaments. I really had fun finding and making the right gifts. Merry Christmas. Barbi!!!!!!!!!!! Kathleen Smith drew my name and she was a fantastic Secret Santa. I love everything she got me. Merry Christmas, Ms. Smith!!!!!

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Secret Santa and Barbi

  1. Beatrice B. Burnett says:

    Jim, You are a fantastic person. Always so up and happy. That is my kind of people. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you. Beatrice

Leave a Reply

