The Brian Gift – 30 Pieces of Silver

SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 084I got a phone call from my quilt friend, Brian, in Indianapolis the other night. He said, “Brother Jim, go to the front door” in his Yankee-way Southern accented drawl. I went to the door expecting him to be standing there and to surprised me. But, no one was there. He said, “Brother, Jim, look down.” There was this HUGE box. I couldn’t pick it up it was so heavy. He said, “Brother Jim, put the phone down.” LOL! I did and I could barely pick it up it was so heavy. He told me to go get a knife and cut the box open carefully. I did and then he said,SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 085 put the 3 wrapped packages aside and unwrap the others. I unwrapped a silver plated lid. It took forever and I unwrapped over 30 pieces of silver appointments and serving pieces. I asked him what in the world was it. He was moving and cleaning out and he said he wasn’t going to polish any silver any more. I could see why. 90% of it was B L A C K. Now he knew I never mind polishing silver and I really like doing it. So, now I have a challenge to see how clean I can get everything. The other 3 presents were a pair of bronze stork scissors, a petit point brooch, and a jeweled and enameled frame. I have been so excited. He knows me well. Thank you, Brian for everything. I have 2 of your presents made, but I have to finish something else. You may not get them before Christmas. Now I have something to do during Christmas school break .SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 079 SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 080 SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 081 SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 082 SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 084 SH faculty party,  Russelleville antiquing, Brian's silver 085

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Brian Gift – 30 Pieces of Silver

  1. Wow!!  What a fascinating Merry Christmas……I’ll be anxious to see the photographs of it all cleaned up.   I have been working on a project   but I have to finish all four pieces before I unveil.  Hopefully in January.  I have to challenge quilts to work on first.    Happy Holidays!  Karen

    wow

  2. Lou says:

    Wow! What a special gift. May I share my address also in case your shelves are full?
    Question–What is the last serving piece that you pictured in this post? It has a curved handle, doesn’t it?

    • Jim Gatling says:

      That is a reproduction of a tomato server. It is now probably used more for small pastries. I have a couple and the first one I saw was $50.00. So, it is sorta rare and different. Merry Christmas, Lou!!! Thanks for reading!!!!

  3. Jim: I cant think of another man that needed another thing to do like polish silver. OH my friend Jim likes that I think I will send it to him. Best of luck bud enjoy your new loot Brian Haggard

Leave a Reply

