What I Purchased at the Missouri Auction

table 001The auction at Lone Jack, Missouri. The first half of the auction was from the cataloged items in order of the handout. I went with a friend that was interested in several things to buy for himself and to resale. I really wasn’t going to purchase anything, because everything was really going sky-high. When we got to the other things it went really fast and a lot cheaper. I spotted 3 things that I would have liked to have. One was a box of old needlework items and 2 books on collecting them. It went for over $125. No way. Then there was a Colonial table Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 067Piapianono top embroidery stretcher frame. When they put it up for auction my friend asked me did I want it. (I don’t like to bid. Goes to fast for me.) I gave him my top bid. Then they threw in a printer’s tray. I didn’t want the tray. But, to get the embroidery stretcher frame, you had to bid on both. He got it for me for a little over. Then, there was a small display table that matched a bigger one I had. They threw in four french Country chairs. Well, I had told him what I could go on the table and he started bidding on all five items. He got the bid and told me that it was a great buy and he could sell the chairs.  He even got a set of old French chairs for $10.00. So, at the end of the auction things were really going cheap. The table is missing the top glass which is no biggie. And I think I am going to have 2 pieces of plate-glass cut for the stretcher frame and make it into a display shelf. It was a very interesting day, and I learned a lot. table 004table 002

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Purchased at the Missouri Auction

  1. Looks like you got some fantastic stuff, Jim. Are you planning to simply refurbish these or do something a little different?

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I am having a glass cut for the top of the display table right now, and for the embroidery srtetcher frame for needlework I am having 2 plate glass pieces to go on top and inside on the rails to make a display shelf for a collection of glass things. I will post again when I get them all back and put up. hasnks for asking. I love making something useful from something different.

Leave a Reply

