Christmas with the Kids Finally on January 8th

Christmas 2014 001 Christmas 2014 002 Christmas 2014 003 Christmas 2014 004 Christmas 2014 005 Christmas 2014 006 Christmas 2014 007 Christmas 2014 008 Christmas 2014 009 Christmas 2014 010 Christmas 2014 012 Christmas 2014 014 Christmas 2014 015 Christmas 2014 016 Christmas 2014 017 Christmas 2014 018 Christmas 2014 019 Christmas 2014 020Traditions. Well, we ain’t got no traditions much in the Gatling family.  Traditions. Let’s see. With the in-laws, ex-laws, out-laws, his, her, our’s their’s, extended and blended families I just wait for my son Blake, and Cindy, and the two grands, Maggie and Will, to tell me what they want to do for the holidays. I’m easy. Don’t care. Whatever. This year the Sunday before Christmas Cindy called and asked if it was OK they’d like to spend Christmas morning at my house in their P.J.’s opening Santa, gifts, and having breakfast. No problem. Sure. That’s great. Love it. Well, Christmas morn I get up at the crack of dawn cook for 2 hours have tables set, everything ready, Christmas everywhere, food enough for an army, all the little appointments and extras, and I get a phone call. It’s Cindy telling me that the other 3 are sick with the flu. They’re not coming. Well, that means I’m not doing it without the kids, so no one else is coming. They have the flu, then Cindy gets the flu, then Maggie gets it again. So, we wait to find a date that all are well and see when we can get together.  I ask a couple of times and plans were already made for other people, and hunting, and life in general. We finally decide that Christmas will be on January 8th starting at 5:30. So, back to the store to get all the food that goes with the annual Petit Jean Ham. We had Christmas!!! Uncle Stewart and Aunt Martha came and one of those other family members that requests no photos and shall remain nameless on my social media.  We had a great evening. Simple. Easy. Fun. Loved it.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas with the Kids Finally on January 8th

  1. Cynthia says:

    Martha and Stewart look great!! They don’t seem to have aged, unlike the rest of us.

  2. When you have a blended family , an adopted kid, a couple of exes , children and grandchildren, this is the only way to fly. You get to spend the time with the people you love when you are not too fussy about the date. I highly recommend this for non-traditional families. It has worked well for us for years.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      I learned it from being patient and waiting for the kids to tell me what they want me to do. My daughter-in-law says she never has to worry about me and me getting my feelings hurt. I just go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

