Little Piano – Tiny Keyboard Remade

Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 011I’m always finding something for someone else when I go antiquing. I pick up things family and friends collect. Of course they have to be a good bargain for me to spend money on gifts for birthdays or Christmas presents. Maggie and Will’s grandmother Zoe collects miniature pianos and organs. She’s a musician and plays for the Methodist church. In my goings I find things that the grandkids can give her. I found this little wooden doll furniture piano cheap. The only problem was that the keyboard had turned dark from the glue or varnishRussellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 004 and fell off. I decided I could make a petit point keyboard out of oe strand of embroidery floss on tiny canvas. I figured out the pattern and went to town. It took 3 days with my bifocals and the floor lit magnifying glass lamp to accomplish this task. I really didn’t think I would ever get it done. It took 1,200 stitches and is a half inch by 3 inches.  I will polish up the wood and when it dries I will glue it in place. I hope she will like it, because there is not another one in the world. LOL!Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 005 Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 006 Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 009 Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 010 Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 013 Russellville, Lone Jack, Missouri 016 snowflakes piano watercolors 064

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little Piano – Tiny Keyboard Remade

  1. Needlepoint of any type takes a long time. That is why I always pick it up when I find it. That was a clever idea to fix the keyboard. She should love it!

Leave a Reply

