Brian’s Belated Christmas Present

Christmas Pictures cards 2014 074If you know me you know I never get it all done. And if you know me you know I don’t worry about it. My quilt friend, Brian, in Indiana sent me that huge box of silver plated serving pieces before Christmas. I decided I needed to make him something that was worthy of his generous gift. I’m not sure now if I had the silver tray or if it was one he sent me. Anyway it was bent a little on the edge and was tarnished to a rich dull gray. I wanted to paint him something that heChristmas Pictures cards 2014 045 would remember me and his gift. I prepped the center of the tray with gesso and let it dry. Then I found my picture of an old-fashioned Santa that I thought would do the tray justice. I used acrylic paints with little brushes for the tiny details. I think it turned out great. I happened to have the plate stand with the matching grapes. I hope he will like it. When I get the other two things done I have started for him I’ll mail it to him. Brian 1 Brian 2 Brian 3 Christmas Pictures cards 2014 074

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brian’s Belated Christmas Present

  1. Well your friend in Indianapolis IN gets your Blog and he is very excited to receive his lovely gift and proudly display it (NEXT YEAR) LOL Thanks again you kind man.
    Brian Haggard The Crazy Haberdasher.

  2. I so love the holly border. That turned out well.

Leave a Reply

