Antique Pox – Two Things that I Paid Too Much For

End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 008Last Sunday on the way back from Little Rock Joan and I stopped by Crystal Hill Antique Mall to get a chimney for my lantern. As I walked in the door the woman behind the desk said, “I have something for you.” Well, that is a real big sign that whatever it is she paid nothing for it and wants me to pay a big price to take it off her hands.  She took me around to the booths with lamp parts and then showed me a petit point compact. Her was way out there. But,Compact she did come down $25.00 so it was close enough that I bought it. I didn’t need it. Didn’t need to spend the money, but I have the antique pox. Then I found a chimney that would fit my lantern. Of course there was no price tag, so she went to call the dealer. She came back with the price of $27.50!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The damn lantern only cost $5.00! But, I have the oil and in case of power outages, so I need the lamp to work. Sometimes in my buying cheap my redoing, and making good, and restoring, and getting fix costs.lanternEnd of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 008

 

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

