Bringing New Life to Old Crap

Remember that $20 small solid mahogany table I got at the last Arkansas Alley antique sale. It needed some love in the worst way. It looked like it had been in a houseRoy dudley Arkansas alley 011 with moisture. The finish was not real good and there were some chips off the stain/varnish. I decided I would strip it. When I started working on it I realized that the wood was so dense that I could use steel wool, blades and a flat screw driver  instead of liquid stripper. The finish came right off with a little elbow grease. The top was a veneer and in good shape. So, I steel wooled it and left it. It cleaned up really well.table 1

 

The oval plaster frame was an oldie. But some genius had painted it red. I got out my trusty gold leaf paint and painted the sides and dry brushed the rope and fruit. I wanted a touch of red , but not the whole thing red. I’ll paint a miniature water-color for it on a rainy day.table 4End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 050
table 3 005

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bringing New Life to Old Crap

  1. Cynthia says:

    Table looks great!

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/burned-furnitur-120020
    Thought you might enjoy this link to wood burning furniture.Looks like something you might like to do.

Leave a Reply

