Some People Can Do Anything

End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 010I have this person in my life that I see about twice a month. I couldn’t live without him. It’s our “glass man.” Mr. Rainey Glass, he’s the Man. I make, refurbish, redo, add and make into something else all the time. But, I couldn’t do it with Mr. Rainey’s help and expertise. He can do anything. He’s helped me out with all kinds of large and small projects. Well, I let some things mount up and I decided to get them all done at the same time. The display table and the table top embroidery stretcher frame I got at the Missouri sale needed some glass. The display table was missing the top glass that sets right down in the lip. The embroidery stretcher frame Ishelf wanted to make into a shelf to put junk in and on. I had him cut two pieces of plate for that. That really turned out cute. I didn’t in anyway compromise the antique frame. It can be taken off and used.  For Christmas Fina gave me a brass stand that probably held a bowl or a globe. I had plate mirror cut to make it in to a pedestal or maybe put a glass dome on. Looks neat. I took a round silver casserole holder and put a mirror in themirror bottom and made it into a dresser tray. Wonderful for displaying perfumes or jewelry.  Then there were 3 silver round things that condiment jars set in. They had no bottoms. The jars got lost and one day I was looking at the silver cabinet and thought what could I do to make them useful. I decided that they would be really pretty pencil holders for desks if they had a bottom. I had mirror cut for the bottoms. Now they have another life.table 003End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 010

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

