Scrap Quilt #121 – Where’s Waldo? The CAQ Crayon Challenge Quilt

Saturday antiquing with glenda 003I hate challenges at a quilt guild. My life is a challenge. I don’t need any more. But, I sometimes do them just because I am a member. Well, I drew a PEACH crayon out of the sack for the crayon challenge. I hate PEACH!!! Really didn’t have any PEACH fabric until I got the PEACH crayon. I had black and white scraps and fat quarters. I started pulling out the ugly black and whites, because you always save the good ones for better projects that will make a difference. I knew what I wanted to do. Make three different size panels and put them together with PEACH sashing and borders. I put one  two-inch square of PEACH piece in the upper right hand corner block. I was going to name the quilt: “Where’s Waldo?” When I went to put on the borders the one two-inch piece of fabric was the wrong color PEACH. I had to snip it out and carefully sew in another one that would match.  The only thing I think about this is I can take the PEACH off and put on a red border and I might like it better. But the PEACH crayon challenge is finished.End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 041 End of Jan. bulb, Roy, flea, table, glass 042 Saturday antiquing with glenda 001 Saturday antiquing with glenda 002 Saturday antiquing with glenda 003 Saturday antiquing with glenda 004 Saturday antiquing with glenda 005 Saturday antiquing with glenda 006 Saturday antiquing with glenda 007 Saturday antiquing with glenda 008 Saturday antiquing with glenda 009 Saturday antiquing with glenda 010 Saturday antiquing with glenda 011 Saturday antiquing with glenda 012 Saturday antiquing with glenda 013 Saturday antiquing with glenda 014 Saturday antiquing with glenda 015

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrap Quilt #121 – Where’s Waldo? The CAQ Crayon Challenge Quilt

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Interesting layout. I like it. I’m with you though I don’t like peach or orange. For some reason that color makes me uncomfortable.I know it’s crazy. Good idea with replacing it with red. That will make it pop. You have some great black and white fabrics.

  2. That is a really good idea when you are given a challenge that doesn’t speak to you. I love the way it turned out. When the challenge is over replace ALL the peach with RED. To keep the spirit of the quilt, sew the offending piece of peach on the back.

Leave a Reply

