Great Uncle Tom Gatling had Peacocks Watercolor

February Middle 064I was flipping through magazines to tear out pages for cutting magazine snowflakes, and there was this picture of a peacock sitting on a fence. It reminded me of when we were young we used to go out to our great Uncle Tom’s farm to see his animals. I remember he had several cages with different breeds of dogs, I know some other birds, but he had peacocks. They would be sitting in trees and on fences, and would make a loud screeching noise. They would shed their long tail feathers and we would gather them. I remember a vase that was full of them in our living room. Years later when I taught atFebruary Middle 055 MJHS, Murriel Dixon and her family  had some on their farm. I like seeing them roam when I would go up there. The other day I was with a friend that said they loved peacocks and that peacocks were their favorite bird/animal. I decided to see if I could paint a watercolor of one. It took me three days, and some research on the net to get this primitive watercolor done. I found a Victorian frame that it fits in. Not sure if I’ll give it away now to my friend now. It may be too primitive for the frame. February Middle 056 February Middle 057 February Middle 067 February Middle 066

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Uncle Tom Gatling had Peacocks Watercolor

  1. Charlotte says:

    I like your watercolor of the peacock , very nice!!

  2. Cynthia says:

    My parents had peacocks when the girls were young. They would wake up the girls in the morning screeching at their window. Mother also had the feathers from their tales, they are beautiful. Pamela did have some feathers, but I don’t think she has them anymore.

  3. Nora Krein says:

    Awesome! And you are wondering what to do to get $$ if you retire! Jim, get busy and have an art show/sale!

Leave a Reply

