Shades of Grey the Musical

movies 002Have you read the book “Shades of Grey?” Now there’s a new movie based on the book.  That’s all I have seen on TV. They are talking about it even on the news. Commercials on every channel. Even the kids at school are talking about it. I used to go to the movies every Sunday afternoon until my friend, Myron, died. Now I don’t have anybody to go with. I don’t read. Nevermovies 004 have. I make or sew or paint or watch TV late at night. But while I am working in the studio I like to have on something I can listen to 90% of the time and watch while I am taking a break. I can’t watch a new movie and watch my hands when I have them by a sewing machine needle. The last time I was in the Conway library I went to their book sale room. That week everything was free. I movies 005didn’t get any book,s but I got several old VHS taped movies. I have one of those old VHS/DVD players. Most of what I got are musicals, so I can sit and listen and follow without having to “watch.” So many of them brought back so many memories of the MHS theatre and Ms.D. “Steel Magnolias,” “It’s a Wonderful Life,” “The Wizard of OZ,” Fiddler on the Roof, and “South Pacific.” So, this weekend when the blizzard comes, I’ll sit and sew and “listen” to old movies. Can’t wait for there to be a “Shades of Grey the Musical.” Did you know in art that there is a value scale with white and black and 7 shades of gray in the middle? Oh, when I was in the 6th grade the smartest kid in the class was in the spelling bee. He got the word “Gray.” He spelled it G R E Y. I thought, how dumb he was  to be so smart, and didn’t know the spelling. After they looked it up, we were all told that gray and grey were the same thing and meant the same thing. Guess I was the dumb one. Know what the main difference is? Gray is used in America. Grey is used in England. Now I learnt ya sumpin’.movies 001movies 003

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shades of Grey the Musical

  1. Kathy Garringer says:

    My 2 yr old grandson is named Grey. It has nothing at all to do with the popular movie or book. There is a term for babies born as an after effect of the book–Greybys.

Leave a Reply

