Elfinware Tea Set and Wadly Purse

Elfinware and Wadly Bag 008I got a phone call yesterday from my dealer friend and they were up at Branson for the weekend. He found 2 things he thought I needed. One was an Elfinware miniature tea set and the other was a Wadly cream satin hand-painted bag. I do collect Elfinware. I have a little china cabinet in the back bedroom full of Elfinware pieces.  Elfinware is a mark found on Dresden-like porcelain that was sold in dime stores and gift shops. Many pieces were decorated with raised flowers, blue forget-me-nots, green leafy “spinach” or moss and grasses. The mark was registered by Breslauer-Underberg, Inc., of New York City in 1947. Pieces marked Elfinware Made in Germany had been sold since 1945 by thisElfinware importer. Other Elfinware pieces were made during the 1920s and 1930s.  These are very collectible and hard to find cheap. I pass up so many pieces because they are in the $80, $90, and $100 range now. Most are very small and are just for decorative. But, I do have some that are larger vases and baskets. The tea set was complete with the tray, sugar, creamer with lid and the tea-pot with lid. The six pieces were cheap enough, so I told himElfinware and Wadly Bag 013 to get them. The purse was marked Original Wadly Bag Made in England. The neat thing about it was it is hand=painted, but it is painted with little glass beads so it sparkles. Really different. I try not to buy anything now but petit point purses, but this was so neat and so different. It was only $13. I looked it up on the net and found two that were priced in England at 125 pounds and 150 pounds. I think I got a real bargain.Wadly Bag 1 Elfinware and Wadly Bag 018 Elfinware and Wadly Bag 019 Elfinware and Wadly Bag 010

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

