Going to 64 Highway Flea Market

quilt class, finds, watercolor painting amaryllis 094I had an hour to kill Thursday, so I stopped downtown at the 64 Highway Flea Market. It was cold and damp out, but I was waiting to do lunch with a family member that by request shall remain nameless on all my social media. You never know what you are going to see or what new items they bring in. I got a bale of cotton ($5)for a friend that was looking for some country farm items, a wooden piano to wood burn($5), a beaded tassel for the key in my china cabinet, an old small frame to paint a watercolor($6), and a lucite purse with woven sides($2). The purse was clear lucite on top and bottom. It has a brass framework with woven sides. The material that it is woven with is a clear clastic with texture and gold stars. I got it to put my small watercolor brushes and paint sets in. But, after looking it, and looking on the net, I think I better not store paint in a 1950’s purse that may be worth over $100. Even though I only paid $21.00. I can always find something to tote my paint in and not mess up an antique.quilt class, finds, watercolor painting amaryllis 090 quilt class, finds, watercolor painting amaryllis 091 quilt class, finds, watercolor painting amaryllis 092 quilt class, finds, watercolor painting amaryllis 093

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going to 64 Highway Flea Market

  1. In case you are interested the little cotton bale looks like a tiny bale that used to be sent out as part of a cotton teaching kit . I think it came from the American Cotton Growers Assn, but I could have that name wrong. Anyway, it sure is cute!

Leave a Reply

