Matisse Art History Lesson and Painting

matisse Teacup gardens watercolor 001In my Sacred Heart art history class we were studying Matisse. I got a poster from Scholastic magazine that had a picture of Henri Matisse’s “Woman in a Purple Coat.” (1937)  I put it on the board and the more I looked at it the more I wanted to try to paint it. I got a canvas board about the size of the poster and drew it off. I used acrylic paints and tried to add some shading and color were needed. Since it was flatyard Matisse 008 patterned with detail on top it wasn’t very hard to paint. I did it in 2 days. I stayed late the first day and then I came in early the second day. I try to do what I assign to show them how easy or how the finished project looks. I have binders of all kinds of art class projects.  Well, my students are now trying to paint it their way. It is really interesting to see how they see and paint things.UntitledMatisse yard Matisse 009 yard Matisse 010 yard Matisse 011 yard Matisse 012 matisse Teacup gardens watercolor 003matisse Teacup gardens watercolor 004matisse Teacup gardens watercolor 002

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

