Rocky the Rooster – King of the Hill Primitive Watercolor

matisse Teacup gardens watercolor 010I wanted to do another primitive country village watercolor and when I started researching building/city scenes, it sorta took on a life of its own. I sketch then draw on the watercolor paper. It’s a building process for me. I start with an idea and then keep adding. These small watercolors have so much in them I have to always consider how the darks and lights will flow, and is there enough contrast to see everything at a distance. You can tell by the sketches that I jump from different parts of the painting.  I must have balance and  since everything is small I must have something interesting in each area. I named this one: “Rocky the Rooster – King of the Hill.” Did you find him? I like the barn in the upper middle and the chickens and chicks in front in the hill. I painted them a little larger to make them important in the picture.  I enjoyed this one, but it took about a week. Teaching and life gets in my way of creating some weeks.  I love the mannequins in the mercantile windows. Smaller than a dime. What do you think?chicken Watercolor 001 chicken watercolor 1b chicken Watercolor 002Chicken Watercolor 1Rabbitt Matisse Watercolors 008

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rocky the Rooster – King of the Hill Primitive Watercolor

  1. Deb says:

    Love these paintings!! Love looking at all the detail in them,wonderful!!!

  2. C Self says:

    I love your tiny paintings! The detail is marvelous. They make me happy just to see them.

Leave a Reply

