Stripping Can Be Fun and Rewarding

Candle sticks Joan 006At the flea market Saturday I got a pair of old wooden candlesticks for a buck. They matched the others I have on the mantle. But, the finish was old and dark and dirty. That night I decided to strip the ones that needed a good cleaning. I put a coat of stripper on several and the feel asleep. When I got up this morning I put another coat of stripper on them. I created a real mess of dark red goo on them all. I had to use razor blades, steel wool, and sandpaper to get them stripped back down to the wood. After drying and sanding again I used a dark walnut penetrating stain on all of them and rubbed them clean. The results were fantastic. They have new life and a new glow. In my collecting I try and restore things to being better and more useful. This was a good exercise for me to keep up with my restoring. CS 1cs2 Candle sticks Joan 014

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

