Homemade Chicken and Dumplings from Mary Lois Burfield

dumplins, flowers, cornbread 001The other night I wanted something different. I thought and thought of what I could make. I went to the kitchen and looked in the freezer. I had all kinds of chicken, now what to do with it? I grabbed a cookbook from the rack and it happened to be the cookbook from the First Baptist Church at Forrest City. I flipped to the index and there it was. Supper!!! Chicken and dumplings. Yum-Yum!! I read the ingredients and I had it all so away I went. (I try to have a little of everything on hand to make anything from scratch. Never know what I am going to try.) The recipe was easy and I followed it. When I started to post about it, it was from my long-time Forrest City acquaintance and Facebook friend, Mary Lois Burfield. I know she is a good cook, so this was going to be good. She got her recipe from Mrs. Clay……….Wonder if I knew her? Well, they were great. I’ll know what not to do next time. But, it was really easy and I never mind making dough and using grandmother TeeTee’s rolling-pin.  Oh, I made mini cornbread muffins with cheese and peppers. Thanks, Mary Lois!!!!chicken and dumplingsdumplins, flowers, cornbread 001dumplins, flowers, cornbread 002

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Chicken and Dumplings from Mary Lois Burfield

  1. Deb says:

    One of my favorite foods!!

Leave a Reply

