I’ve Been Framed – Five New Primitive Watercolors

trash watercolors 013You usually paint a picture and then try to find a frame. Well, since I have been buying frames for years and piling them up for future use, it is now the future. I am now picking out the frame first then painting a picture that fits the style of the frame and the watercolor paper fits the opening before I start.  Clever huh? I am using old frames with character and redoing them. Frames can be sooooooooooooooooo expensive. I remember I framed a little acrylic painting on a piece of mat board for a friend. When I got the bill it was $100 and that was with the family discount of 1/2 price!!!!!!!!! Never again! I have a fortune in pretty frames hanging in my house. Oh, my insurance man said that I couldn’t insure my mother’s and grandmother’s paintings because they not know artists and didn’t have a reference to a price. But, I could insure my frames because they had an established price.  When I decide to have an art show and sell I want things framed and ready to hang. Remember these paintings are very small with a lot of detail. Here are my latest watercolors FRAMED!!!snowman watercolor WC 2 WC 3 wc 4 WC 5 trash watercolors 013

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ve Been Framed – Five New Primitive Watercolors

  1. Deb says:

    These are SO clever! Getting things customed framed is definitely pricey!

Leave a Reply

