Small Matisse Acrylic Still-Life

CAQ acrylic floral watercolors flowers 092I bought a few frames at Clarksville the last time I went.  One picture was really ugly. It was an acrylic painting on a stretch canvas of water lilies with a black back ground and was framed with a mat. Well, for fifty cents I bought it. I took the frame and mat off. I painted the mat black and now I am going to paint the frame and dry brush it. I wanted to do a small Matisse-like still life with bright colors on the stretch canvas.  I gessoed the canvas white,  drew it off and used acrylics. It is 8″ X 10 1/2″. So, everything is tiny. I like it. Lots of patterns and textures. What do you think???? AMS 1 AMS 2 CAQ acrylic floral watercolors flowers 092 CAQ acrylic floral watercolors flowers 093

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Small Matisse Acrylic Still-Life

  1. Lauren Hill says:

    I really like this. Lauren Hill

  2. Deb says:

    Your paintings are gorgeous!

  3. Candy Berry says:

    Love it Jim!

Leave a Reply

