Worst Flea Market Ever

157When I was at Fayetteville this weekend to go to the Northwest Arkansas Quilt Show there was a huge flea market going on across the fairgrounds from the quilt show. I walked over there to stand in line with about 50 people in front of me to go into the worst lit smelly cow barn in the world. It was so crowed you could not walk. The aisles were so small two people could pass easily. The vendors were basically selling ugly stuff that they had painted toFlea2 make it uglier or they took something old, good and stylish and made it into a monstrosity. I could not wait to get out of there. There were only 3 things I would have taken home with me and one was WAY over-priced, one was display only and one was a little toy iron and stand. The name RAUCO was stamped in the stand. The iron was cast iron with a red handle. I like it enough to go back and get it before I left. I looked it up on the net and itFlea 1 said it was from the 1950’s or the 1970’s. It was from Germany. And it was valued at $100, $63, or $15. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I bought it for $19 and was perfectly happy with that. With 90 something vendors you’d think it would have been great, but all in all it was the worst flea market ever.Flea 3157

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Worst Flea Market Ever

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Think of all the money you saved!

  2. Carla Gay says:

    I agree with your assessment of the flea market. I had such high expectations, but wow — was I disappointed!

  3. Rene RiggN says:

    i need that iron to go with my little red ironing board I bought this weekend at Ozark,MO

Leave a Reply

