Scrap Quilt # 120 – Whole Rag Quilt Cost Four Dollars

Currch and rag quilt 037When I was at the NW Arkansas quilt guild quilt show in Bentonville I bought from the general store a big blanket zipper bag full of rag quilt blocks. It cost me $4.00 for a whole quilt. But, the neatest thing was there was finished quilted blocks just ready to put together. I laid it out on the tables in the studio and started tying to see what I had and I started arranging them. The blocks were big solid blocks or 4-patch pieced blocks the same size. The object is for all the raw edges be on the top as you put it together. They were already frontq 1 and back fabrics with batting in the middle and quilted. Then you fringe all the raw edges. Now the part  I didn’t listen to was: When finished, take to laundry mat to wash and dry…………… I didn’t do that and almost ruined my washer and dryer. The home-spun fabrics really frayed and I had piles of thread in my washer and dryer. But the results were great. I got a finished quilt now and the whole thing only cost $4.00!!!q 2Q 3Q 3Q 4Currch and rag quilt 037

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrap Quilt # 120 – Whole Rag Quilt Cost Four Dollars

  1. That turned out to be a really gorgeous quilt. I love the cozy cabin look!

  2. Good for you Jim! Glad to see you at the show

  3. indigomoons says:

    Love the look of this and can almost feel the frayed thread edges.

Leave a Reply

