Pay Attention to the Instructions – Rag Quilt Disaster

currch-and-rag-quilt-037[1]I made the rag quilt I bought for $4.00 from the general store at the NW Arkansas quilt guild quilt show in Bentonville.   I had a book on rag quilts and I have heard two speakers say not to wash them in your washing machine at home or use your home dyer. Follow the instruction!!! Duh! I knew better, but I went ahead. Just easier than going to the laundry mat downtown.  Duh! Well, guess what? I really messed up  and used both machines and I broke my dryer. Duuuuuuuh! The guy that came to fix it took the whole thing apart and pulled out 3 double hands full of strings and fabric fuzz. I think I learned my lesson.Mary's and Roy Dudley 005currch-and-rag-quilt-037[1]

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pay Attention to the Instructions – Rag Quilt Disaster

  1. Deb says:

    Now that’s good to know! Not that you had machine problems but hat it causes machine problems.lol!:)

  2. LYNDA KERR says:

    I always wash my flannel fabric before I bring it into my sewing room. Perhaps this is when it’s more important to use the dryer for 10 minute intervalls with emptying the lint filter interspersed with each stop. Of course the same should apply when ragging the quilt in your dryer.

Leave a Reply

