Lunch with My Family on the Fourth – Coney Island Dogs

July 4 027I decided to have my family here on he Fourth for lunch. Of course, I invited Blake and his wife, Cindy, and the two grands, Maggie and Will. Blake’s Uncle Stewart and Aunt Martha and a family member that by request asks that she not be named or have any photos on any of my social media. I decided to do my crock pot picnic. You take 3 crockpots and do July 4 aRotel cheese dip, Petit Jean hot dogs, and Hormel chili. I baked the Bush beans in the oven this time. Three bags of chips, buns, soft drinks, cheese, onions, mayo, mustard, pickle relish, slaw, and two people brought the desserts.  Now, when I was 15 years old I worked at the Tastee Freeze in Forrest City, AR. They had on the menu a Coney Island Hot Dog. It got its name from a special hot dog at Coney Island. It was a bun with a wiener that had mayonnaise, mustard, chilli, cheese, slaw, onions, and pickle relish. (No ketchup. RuinsJuly 4 a the taste of the whole thing.) Now, at Blue Diamond when I am hungry for a Coney Island Hot Dog, they will fix it just like I ask. They are soooooooooooo good. The best way to make it is to just have a little of everything. Never a lot of any one thing. But with all the stuff I had for lunch, they can do chips and dip, chili cheese dip, Nachos, Frito chili pie. Just any combination you would  like. Sometimes, I do the baked beans in the crock pot. It does help if you own 4 crock pots. LOL! We had a great time. Love having the family. Happy Fourth, Y’all !!July 4 027July 4 bJuly 4 cJuly 4 dJuly 4 e

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

