Lucas DeSalvo Gatling, May He Rest in Peace

zoe and dogwood Tom 001Lucas Desalvo Gatling, age 13 ½, of Morrilton, AR, went to Doggie Heaven on Thursday, August 20, 2015. He is survived by his adoptive father, Jim Gatling of Morrilton and his care-giver and friend, Deanna Taber of Morrilton. His other family members include Blake, Cindy, Maggie, and Will Gatling of Springfield, AR and Dianna Denton and Fina Bartlett, both of Morrilton. Lucas’ hobbies included jumping in the air and catching birds, begging for people food, escaping the gate, playing in the back yard, playing with children, sleeping, and sunning by the back door. He loved to travel and one of his favorite places to go was the art room at Sacred Heart School. He loved Facebook and his nick name there was “Lucas TTWD,” Lucas the Tail-less Wonder Dog.  A special thanks to Mrs. Sharon at the Doggie House in Perry who did his hair and nails every two weeks his whole life, and to Doc Rolhman, Dr. Brianne, and Kerri at Rolhman’s Animal Clinic for all the love and care they have given through the past years. He will be greatly missed by his family, friends and neighbors. In lieu of flowers memorial may be made to the Sacred Heart Endowment Fund.Lucas 1lucas jan 2011 033

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lucas DeSalvo Gatling, May He Rest in Peace

  1. Terry says:

    My heart goes out to you, Jim. Lucas will be missed and never forgotten. He had a terrific adoptive father.

  2. Deanna says:

    This is such a sweet honor to your very special “forever” friend!

  3. crossstitcher131 says:

    I am so sorry to hear this news, if you need anything call us.

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S® 5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

  4. Mary Parsons says:

    I know he is missed by you and all who loved him.

  5. Wendy Drew says:

    So sorry for your loss. I know your heart is aching.

  6. Debbie Thompson says:

    Jim, I am so sorry for your loss. I understand it all too well. We lost our Tribble on July 13th. I was at Mom’s yesterday and said “I had better get home to check on Tribble”. I wonder how long I will do that.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      A very long time. I did it when my grandfather died. Told Mama I was going over next door to see Papaw. I got half was across the yard and turned around and we both stood there crying.
      I looked fo Lucas last night when I got in. It will be awhile.

  7. quiltjunkie says:

    Oh dear, I’m so sorry for your loss. I know he leaves a huge hole in your life. {{{hugs}}}

Leave a Reply

