Framing a Victorian Petit Point

framing 1If you buy something in parts, restore it, paint it, made it good. I’m glad people who sell don’t clean up things. If they did the price would be way up there on things I buy. And I enjoy the fix. The Victorian petit point of the gypsy woman I got in Tulsa at the antique show at the fairgrounds needed put back into the frame. The problem was the glass was real dirty and the frame was chipped and scratched. So, I had to clean everything up. I first got some foamcore. It’s two pieces of poster board with about a fourth inch of styrofoam in the middle. I cut the oval shape of the frame and pinned the petit point on the edge. That took forever, because you have to really get it flat and straight. I cleaned the glass, sanded the back of the frame, painted the frame black and did the lip in a gold leaf paint. I trimmed off the old leftover canvas I used my new handy framing staple gun, put the eye screws for the wire back in and it’s ready to hang.  It look richer, newer, cleaner and ready to fit on a wall somewhere.framing 2watercolors Oz 038

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

