Quilting OZ

watercolors Oz 087I finally finished my Wizard of Oz quilt for the challenge at AQG’s Quilt Arkansas.  I have never had so much trouble with a quilt trying to quilt it. I realized while I was quilting the  second border that I had gotten polyester felt instead of quilt batting. I almost threw the whole thing away and Marilyn and Leah said just finish it. I did, but it was such a struggle.  It needed some pizzazz, so I embellished it with heat set crystals and stars. I then made the Lion’s medal out of a charm, the Tin Man’s heart clock was made from two buttons, and I am making the diploma for the Scarecrow. It’s bound and has a sleeve. Now for the label. It’s 97 percent done. YEA!!!Oz 1Oz 2

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting OZ

  1. Deb says:

    Glad you didn’t throw it out! I like it!

  2. Wendy Drew says:

    Well done! Love the bling!

Leave a Reply

