You Know You are Old if You are Hanging at The Forrest City Museum

Forrest City 039 Friday, I was killing time and went to the St. Francis County Museum at Forrest City , AR. It is very unusual. There are lots of cards to read about all kinds of history in the county. To my surprise there I was hanging on the wall in a picture of the Forrest City graduating class of  1969. I even found an old year book with my senior  photo in it. One of the neatest things was going up the stairs there were 3 paintings. They were framed oils. As I was looking at them there was a photo of John Isom, my high school art teacher. He was the only black teacher the year I graduated. I remember that I couldn’t take art that year, because my schedule was full.  He let me come in during lunch and work on projects. We would eat our lunch together and I would do art. I won a state poster award.  The winner and their teacher was supposed to go to Little Rock to receive it. The school would not let us travel together to Little Rock. It was a different time back then. Freedom of Choice was only in effect that year.  I think there were only 8 black students at Forrest City High School. My things sure have changed there.

Can you see me?

Can you see me?

Forrest City 029 Forrest City 035 Forrest City 036 Forrest City 037 Forrest City 027

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Know You are Old if You are Hanging at The Forrest City Museum

  1. mlarueh says:

    Top, middle

    M. LaRue Holloway

    God doesn’t call the qualified….He qualifies the called.

    >

  2. Deb says:

    I look at those pictures for awhile, in the middle in the top row was my guess. I remember when they joined the black and whites in school … For awhile things didn’t always go so nicely.

Leave a Reply

