Old Christmas Tree Watercolor

Watercolor treeA frame can make or take away from a painting. I had this frame that was silver with gold. Not an expensive looking frame from the start. I knew it was going to have to be something different that would go with that look. It reminded me of Christmas and snow, so I decided to paint an old-fashioned Victorian Christmas tree. Simple with basic ornaments, candles, and candy canes. Just a traditional normal tree.  I think this idea really worked out for the frame it was going in. watercolors 048

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Christmas Tree Watercolor

  1. Liz Getz says:

    I love the painting of the tree. I’d like to see your painting with a white or light blue mat at least 2 inches wide and a similar (larger of course) frame.

    • Jim Gatling says:

      Yes you are right. BUT I am using recycled and refurbished small frames. Most of theses are tiny. I don’t want
      to get them so big no one wants them. And I don’t want to spend a lot of money on new frames and mats and I get stuck
      with them. I’m going to se;ll them all. Working on a one man show in late spring.

  2. Becky Tetterton says:

    OMG – this is wonderful – would you consider selling your painting?

Leave a Reply

