First Methodist Church Sale Reveals Unusual Historic Find

flea 1The First Methodist Church of Morrilton had their big sale this weekend. I went Friday afternoon. Lots of stuff left. I got several small things, but the most money I spent was on linens. They have things in certain areas. One room was full of linens, pillows, table clothes and napkins. There was a whole bunch of white linen tablecloths and napkins. I started a pile. Phyllis Gordon came in and told me they were from Marge Gordon  and Virginia Gordon stuff. I knew both women and they had lovely homes. Phyllis questioned why I would want to buy all those linens that had to be washed and ironed. I laughed and told her that they would all go into the tablecloth closet. Yes, of course I have a closet for nothing but linens. And yes I use them, spot them, wash them and iron them. Why? Because for the small prices that people put on them you can use them one time and trow them away if you wanted to. Paper products cost more that most linens at yard sales. As I was going through the piles I spotted some that had notes on them that said: “Linen napkins bought by Methodist Missionary Pearl McClain from Jews escaping Europe into China ca. 1939.” I knew who that was. It was Anne Crofoot Queen’s Aunt Pearl. Anne was my next door neighbor for years. She had several things from her Aunt Pearl. I have two Chinese bowls that Aunt Pearl brought back that Anne sold in a yard sale. I still have them. As for the linen napkins from Anne, think of the story they could tell.flea 2

 

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Methodist Church Sale Reveals Unusual Historic Find

  1. quiltjunkie says:

    Wow – wouldn’t you love to find the descendants of those refugees and return the linens to them? Treasure them. They are indeed an historic find! And thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

