It Was So Dirty It Looked Like Plastic

crystal cI was invited to go to the Expo Center in Conway for the antique sale yesterday. Glenda called Friday to remind me about the sale and I said I love to go. We got there and I had to park on the back row. Loads of people everywhere. We got separated at the first and we never found each other until I got to the end. She was finished shopping, but I had found a Heisey 3-branch candelabra for only $45.00. A STEAL! The man didn’t know what he had and it was so dirty it looked like old plastic. He wouldn’t take a check, so I had to scrape up my last pennies to make it.  The reason I was so excited, I had seen another one that was a lot more expensive.  I went back and compared it and they were so close I asked her what she would take off. She came down so much I had to get it. When I got home I used 409 Spray and let it soak a minute before I washed it in soapy water. I always take them all apart first. I always use Dawn liquid detergent and put a towel in the bottom of the sink, so nothing would break. I lay the parts out on a towel and then hand dry. When it is dry I put it back together. Great dealOct B 014 Oct B 015

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Was So Dirty It Looked Like Plastic

  1. Your chandeliers are beautiful. I have a Heisey Ridgeleigh set and some Cambridge ones. I love them. You and I like so many of the same things.

  2. Cynthia says:

    These are beautiful!

  3. Linda says:

    Jim Gatling you are the luckiest man I know!!!! What a steal on the Heisey. You know HOW MUCH I love my pair. Wish I would have been there……

Leave a Reply

