Dinner with the Foreign Dignitaries

supper 001This week my brother, Lance, has been here from Japan. He arrived on his birthday, Wednesday, so I took him out to Mike’s Place in Conway.  We had a very nice meal and pleasant conversation.  Of course, I have had to work, but he has done stuff and business on the computer. My brother, Craig and his wife Leslie were coming up from Forrest City to see him Saturday, sosupper 006 I told them to go to Mama’s for the afternoon and I would cook dinner. It gave me an excuse to clean up the dining room and get the new table clothes and 106 napkins put away. I cleaned out the linen closet and the 3 linen drawers in the big china cabinet. I hung all the cloths up on white hangers, folded all the napkins and put each set in a zip-loc bag, and arranged all the placements and everyday lines in the cabinet. Then. I set the table andsupper 002 made dinner for the foreign dignitaries. I used my $2.00 yard sale Dresden plates and my $10 set of stainless flatware. The table looked great. I knew I was going to have fried chicken from Harp’s. It’s the best here. I made: Cornbread with chili’s and cheese, broccoli and cheese, candied carrots, cor-on-the-cob, squash and onions, green beans,  and rice and gravy. Mama brought two pies.  It was a great family time. We all had a great visit and a half-way decent meal.supper 003 supper 005 supper 007

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner with the Foreign Dignitaries

  1. Deb says:

    Beautiful table!!

  2. That looks really good! I can almost smell it out here in Idaho!

Leave a Reply

