What I Took to the Mountain for Thanksgiving

I never mind cooking when I have the time. I was invited to go to the mountain to have Thanksgiving with the Ettman’s and Giovannini’s. I had nothing to do Thursday morning. Especially, since I am getting up at 4:00 now that the time changed. I prep everything I can before and then I mix the casseroles and put them in the frig until it’s time to cook. I made sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, pink fluff, cornbread and Mexican cornbread, stuffed celery, a pumpkin pie, and a pickle tray. The back of my car was full. My recipes are really basic. But, people always ask what is Pink Fluff. Pink Fluff is a fruit salad that they make at Sacred Heart for a lot of the meals. I don’t like fruit cocktail, so I use a can of mandrian oranges, a can of pineapple chunks, a jar of maraschino cherries with a tub of small curd cottage cheese, a small Cool Whip and a box of Cherry or strawberry Jello. You drain all the fruit, fold in the cottage cheese, Cool Whip and Jello. Blend gently until all folded in. Cool in frig and serve. One of my favorite things.sp cb pf pc Thanksgiving 2015 080 - Copy

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Took to the Mountain for Thanksgiving

  1. gbob99 says:

    Looks delicious, but only one question—where are all of the KROGER products? lol~

Leave a Reply

