Lightning Strike in Deerwood

The day after Christmas at 8:30 I was awakened by the sounds of rolling thunder and huge lightning. I came downstairs to turn off my computer and I had my hand on the mouse and BOOM! Lightning struck, the surge went up my arm to my elbow. The house shuck and the windows rattled. I just knew the house had been struck. It was raining so hard and I was in my nightshirt, I grabbed the phone and went to the front door and call Rod across the street. I asked him to go to his front door and see if my house was on fire, He said it wasn’t, but the huge tree between my house and Brandon’s was struck. It had a crack all the way to the ground. My life from that point has be chaos. Fourteen appliances and electronics were fried. I have siding off the house and rain came pouring in the sunroom. The adjuster came on New Year’s Day a week later. He told me to take the second bid on getting the tree down, and because they could start the next day. The first bid was $4,000 to $5,000. The second bid was $2,600. It took 2 full days to get it down and then they came back the next day to trim the tree in the front yard with other broken limbs. They story goes on and on. But, here are the pictures of the 90 foot tree and the Hoyt’s taking it down.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lightning Strike in Deerwood

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    Glad you weren’t hurt. Did you save a piece of the trunk to make a bench or something out of to remember it?

Leave a Reply

