Daddy’s Baby Shirt and Hat

I can count on one hand what my older brother has given me in the last 20 years. But, when he does hand me something it is always very special.  When he came to visit my younger brother here from Tokyo, he brought me a small boy’s white cotton hat and a matching white cotton shirt with lace trim hand-stitched embroidery. He told me that it was Daddy’s and Aunt Sweetie gave it to him years ago. Daddy’s parents died before he was raised and he went to live with his Uncle Tom and Aunt Sweetie. Tom was a twin brother to his dad, John. Sweetie’s sister was his mother, Bessie Mae. Sweetie kept some of Daddy’s family things in a barrel in the attic. I really appreciate him giving these to me. What a keepsake! I’ll frame them in a shadowbox to preserve them.

About Jim Gatling

Artist: primitive watercolors, colored pencil. Quilter: Original designs, Scrap quilts. Craftsman: Woodburning, Recycling Teacher: Retired MHS, SHCS K-12 Part Time. Collector: Antiques, Quilts, Glass, Buttons, Petit Point, Needlepoint, Hankies, Figural Perfume Bottles. Son, Father, Grandfather, Neighbor, Friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daddy’s Baby Shirt and Hat

  1. Deb says:

    What a treasure!!!

  2. Joan says:

    Great gift!! Something very special!!

Leave a Reply

